Maureen Spencer is a seasoned infection preventionist with over 40 years of experience and is board certification in infection control (CIC). Her contributions to the field have been remarkable, earning her prestigious accolades and recognition as an early pioneer in infection prevention.

- 1. Awards and Recognition:
  - In 1990, Maureen received the APIC National Carole DeMille Award for her excellence in the field of infection prevention.
  - She was honored as one of the APIC Heroes of Infection Prevention in 2007.
  - o In 2012, she was selected as a "Who's Who of Infection Prevention."
  - In 2017, Maureen was recognized as a Fellow of the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (FAPIC).
- 2. Current Role and Past Positions:
  - Maureen currently serves as an Independent Infection Preventionist Consultant
  - o Previously, she held key positions, including:
    - Director, Clinical Education and Implementation at Accelerate Diagnostics, Tucson, AZ.
    - Corporate Director, Infection Prevention for Universal Health Services, King of Prussia, PA.
    - Director, Infection Control at New England Baptist Hospital, Boston, MA.
    - Director, Infection Control Unit at Mass General Hospital, Boston, MA.
- 3. Research and Publications:
  - Maureen's commitment to advancing infection prevention is evident through her numerous research abstracts and lectures presented at national and international conferences.
  - She has authored over 55 peer-reviewed articles and co-authored two chapters in *Brachman and Bennett's* Hospital Infections, 7th Edition, 2022.
- 4. Impactful Programs and Global Reach:
  - Maureen has presented at both national and international conferences.
  - The program, known as the "7 S Bundle," reflects her innovative approach to surgical stewardship and prevention of surgical site infections.
  - Her expertise extends worldwide, where she has taught in various countries, including Austria, Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, Taiwan, Malaysia, Vietnam, Philippines, France, Turkey, Argentina, Canada, New Zealand, and South Korea.